A running list of my favorite quotes

In this running list I’m going to try and exclude song lyrics, but some Death Cab songs are just too hard to resist. I plan to date each new entry and include a photo or two that I like, but we’ll see how long I can keep it up for.

26.2.17 (almost 27.2.17 though, since it’s 11:59PM currently)

Who decides what a meaningful life is?

When we do a good job no one hears about it. 

Goals should shock you. 

The size of your dreams must always exceed your current capacity to achieve them. If your dreams do not scare you, they are not big enough. – Liberian president, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

I often catch myself criticizing my own country. But do I really think it’s that bad a place? Or am I just afraid of seeming nationalistic?…I often catch myself defending my own country. But do I really think that it’s that good a place? Or did I just grow up believing it is? – seen at the Statens Museum for Kunst

All truths wait in all things – Walt Whitman

They slipped briskly into an intimacy from which they never recovered – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Solitude sometimes is best society – John Milton

Occasionally words must serve to veil the facts – Niccolo Machiavelli

The majority is never right – Henrik Ibsen

I desire the things which will destroy me in the end – Sylvia Plath

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

