Danes DGAF

For this post I want to comment on something of a more casual nature, the attitudes of Danish people in everyday life and more specifically in a social sense, framed within the idea of what people are wearing. What I’ve noticed in my first month is that really, truly, no one cares what you wear. Everywhere I’ve been has been casual, and I have never once shown up to class, a meal, cafe, or night activity and wished that I had worn something else.

Everyone here looks stylish, of course, because if you’ve been keeping up with my other posts you’ll remember that it’s pretty commonly known that Danish people are Cool with a capital C. However, dressing stylish-ly does not mean that everyone is sporting heels or their finest furs when they leave the house. Rather, people dress in fashionable ways that are also practical and comfortable.

People don’t really wear sweatpants, and I haven’t witnessed too many examples of true athleisure. However, sneakers are definitely the most common footwear, worn with trousers, dresses and jeans alike. Boots are the second most common, depending on the weather especially.

I’m not writing this post to educate you on Danish style. There are plenty of other blogs dedicate solely to that purpose. Rather, I want to note how the relaxed approach to wardrobe reflects the overall attitudes of Danish society. No one cares about how you dress when you go out because it’s simply not important to them. Sure, people admire nice outfits and I’ve seen a few people receive compliments for their attire. Nonetheless, everyone here has been so normal about what you wear out because your clothes don’t reflect who you are as a person at all.

When it’s cold, you wear a jacket. When it’s raining, you wear rainboots, even if that means showing up to the club with a soaking wet umbrella and galoshes. Everyone bikes or walks to get places, and though it is common to see women biking in skirts and dresses, it’s just as common to see people at the nicest restaurants in plain jeans and sweaters. Scandinavian attitudes towards material items are so dramatically different than the ones I grew up with in suburban America, and the lack of emphasis on what you’re wearing here in Copenhagen has positively affected my experience here in ways that I couldn’t have predicted.

 

Leave a Reply

